Baby Gifts

I find the act of gift giving for a new baby bittersweet. On one hand, I truly am happy for the friends and hope everyone will be healthy and happy. On the other hand, well, there’s always a persistent thought of ‘when will it be my turn?’

For a long time now, I’ve tried to knit things for expecting friends. The earlier ones used to just be full of joy and excitement. The latter ones are more bittersweet. Some I never get around to knitting because it’s too painful to handle. Some I wait a long while until I can knit with (mostly) love and not envy. I’d like to think I’m infusing the gift with some of that love and child would feel the affection of his or her entire community. Or maybe I’m just being overly fanciful.

 

12 thoughts on “Baby Gifts

  1. They are beautiful gifts, and it’s touching that you put so much your heart into each one. More meaningful than a plastic toy.

    Like

  2. Oh, wow, you KNIT those? Those are absolutely beautiful pieces! You have a real gift. Yes, the gifting to others is difficult when you’re wondering “when am I going to be the recipient?” It’s bittersweet. And to spend so much time handmaking something that is a beautiful, thoughtful gift but also is quite stabby to your heart seems torturous. I think it’s fine to put that aside for the time being and maybe find a special book or something else to give that doesn’t make you sit with it for so long, maybe that you can ship rather than give in person… 🙂 Seriously beautiful knitting.

    Like

    1. Yeah, I don’t give most in person. And I am usually good about making sure I’m in a reasonable frame of mind before committing to the project (and have no qualms about abandoning if I need to)

      Like

  3. These are so sweet! I will freely admit that I hit a stage where I couldn’t bring myself to give gifts to new babies. I still feel guilty about it, even though I know new babies get so many things one less would hardly be missed.

    Like

  4. Very nice!

    I crochet and have the same trouble, especially since my niece was stillborn. I’ve mostly been waiting until the babies are closer to a year old and I know them as a person instead of an idea. It’s easier then.

    Like

Leave a comment