Off to the RE..

So far, I’ve been working with my OBGYN. I really like her – she actually treats me like an adult which is somehow rare with many doctors. But I think there comes a point when closer monitoring is helpful. And I think I was getting impatient with her slower approach. I understand that I’m not quite as old as many infertile patients but I passed 30 this year. I no longer feel like waiting and seeing how much nature works out. So.. I’m switching.

I met with an RE this morning. I’m not positive about it – it’s a guy and I’ve never had a male women’s health doctor. And I’m feeling a little lost and dumped into a whole pile of procedures. From what I can tell, this is the norm  – when you come in, they want to measure everything to get a good baseline.

By measure everything, I think they really do mean everything. There’s a hormone panel (with FSH, LH, Estradiol, Progesterone, Testosterone, TSH, DHEA and lost track of what else). There’s a diabetes panel (with both fasting glucose and Hba1c). An STD panel (which seems superfluous). A genetic screening panel (which also seems superfluous – neither hubby nor I are in any risk groups). Plus an ultrasound. I have to say, I’m not convinced that all that blood can be drawn in a day. I’m totally bringing a jug of orange juice. And some chocolate.

My next concern is whether we can get the testing done within this cycle. For once, I’m hoping that my period doesn’t show up – we’re traveling a bit so testing would be impossible then. No period means that we can induce and then test once we’re back.

I’m just trying to take a step back and whatever happens happens. We’re being proactive but there isn’t much more we can do at this point. So I’m trying to relax about it a bit.

Leave a Reply

